bemusing musings of a bewildered brush-wielder

whitecap bulldozer

At dawn yesterday morning, when I was wandering the yard in Whitecap docks and looking for material to paint, I passed by some beautiful fishing vessels, a landlocked row boat that was overflowing with potted flowers, some fishing supplies leaning up against the wall.  Each of these caught my eye, but somehow I wasn’t captivated.  I kept wandering the docks, then decided to walk inland a bit, to the warehouse area.  There, I found this rusting brontosaurus, living out its last days in front of a run down warehouse.  The light on it was beautiful- some of the bulldozer was bathed in the early morning rays, some of it was thrown back into darkness.

But, aesthetics aside, it just somehow seemed like a visual version of a Johnny Cash song.  The tractor felt right.  And, it’s nice to not take something too seriously, and just enjoy painting.

The critics are raving about this piece, I am getting such good coverage.  I brought the painting home, and Liam flipped out.  In keeping with his love for tractors, he said “Dad, I love tractor.”  So, I feel good about the painting.

Then the section foreman said, “Hey! Hammer-swinger!
I see you your own hammer boy but, what all can them muscles do?” and he said,
“I can turn a jack I can lay a track I can pick and shovel too.”
“Can you swing a hammer, boy?” “Yes sir, I’ll do anything you hire me to.”

“John Henry”, Johnny Cash

Click here to listen to the audio track for this painting.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e1BfcIA1Lv8

4 responses

  1. Is that a tractor? I’m not sure of the definitions, but I would have guessed it was a bulldozer.
    When I was a child on our farm near Goshen, NY, I drove a tractor. It looked different.

    August 31, 2010 at 7:11 am

    • Right you are. I’ll change the title. Though, isn’t whitecap tractor so much more lyrical than whitecap bulldozer?

      August 31, 2010 at 3:21 pm

  2. Kittie Davenport

    Thank you for your blogs. Bring a six pack of Bud, sit on the dock with a fishing pole and just ‘a set a bit’. Pirate will emerge. Chat him up and draw casually—he’ll want to be painted. K

    August 31, 2010 at 8:39 am

  3. Tractors pull. Pulling can be a synonym for drawing. A tractor does sound good as part of the title of an artist’s post on his blog.

    August 31, 2010 at 3:30 pm

Leave a Reply

